On Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2008, Kings head coach Terry Murray named Dustin Brown the 15th Captain in Kings history. Brown is the youngest and first American-born captain in Kings history. The previous youngest captain was Bob Wall, the Kings inaugural captain, who was 24 and turned 25 on Dec.1, 1967. At the time he was named Captain, Brown was 23 years old, turning 24 on Dec. 18.

In addition to Brown, Anze Kopitar and Matt Greene were named Alternate Captains.

The current Kings President, Business Operations Luc Robitaille served as Team Captain during the 1992-93 season. Wall was the first King to be named captain, wearing the C in the team's inaugural 1967-68 season and served as the team's leader until 1969.

Below is the list of players whom have worn the "C" in a Kings sweater.

Dustin Brown (2008 to present)
Rob Blake (2007 to 2008)
Mattias Norstrom (2001-02 to 2006-07)
Rob Blake (1996-97 to 2000-01)

Rob Blake (1996-97 to 2000-01)
Wayne Gretzky (1992-93 to 1995-96)
Luc Robitaille (1992-93)*
Wayne Gretzky (1989-90 to 1991-92)
Wayne Gretzky (1989-90 to 1991-92)
Dave Taylor (1985-86 to 1988-89)
Terry Ruskowski (1983-84 to 1984-85
Dave Lewis (1981-82 to 1982-83)
Mike Murphy (1975-76 to 1980-81
Mike Murphy (1975-76 to 1980-81)
Terry Harper (1973-74 to 1974-75)
Bob Pulford (1971-72 to 1972-73)
Larry Cahan (1969-70 to 1970-71)
Larry Cahan (1969-70 to 1970-71)
Bob Wall (1967-68 to 1968-69

*Served as Captain for the first 39 games of the 1992-93 season as Gretzky was sidelined with an injury.

There have only been three players in NHL history that have been Captains for three different teams and two of them have captained the Kings:

Terry Ruskowski Chicago Blackhawks 1979-80 to 1981-82
  Los Angeles Kings 1983-84 to 1984-85
  Pittsburgh Penguins 1986-87
Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers 1983-84 to1987-88
  Los Angeles Kings 1989-90 to 1995-96
  St. Louis Blues 1995-96
Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers 1988-89 to 1990-91
  New York Rangers 1991-92 to1996-97
2000-01 to 2003-04
  Vancouver Canucks 1997-98 to 1999-2000